top of page

Wendy Chang


75-year-old Wendy Chang was born in Mainland China and lived there until her family moved to Taiwan when she was seven years old. She grew up in a nice family and received a good education while living in Taiwan. “I’m not sure what it is like in Mainland China anymore because the culture in Taiwan might be different from when I was living there since the two areas are enemies. It’s nice in Taiwan, but when my father first went and visited my brother in the United States, he decided that it was a better place to raise children and give them a good education. We moved to the United States so that my children could have a better life and education,” said Chang. Chang and her family immigrated to the United States in 1974 because her brother, who moved there to continue his education, felt that the United States was a better place to be. When Chang’s father visited her brother, he felt the same way and the family packed their bags to move for good.

Chang’s life now as a senior citizen living in the United States has been very positive for her. “My life here is very good. I have lived here for about 40 years now and I have enjoyed a good retirement and benefits that the United States provides for its senior citizens. Since I moved to this senior apartment complex, I have been very comfortable and satisfied with where I am living.” Chang is glad that she decided to move here and not stay in Taiwan because her life would have been very difficult. “I think it might have been miserable. The last president that they elected in China is against Taiwan so I think living there would have been bad for my family. I am happy we immigrated to the United States.”

Growing old in the United States has also allowed Chang and her family to receive benefits that she would not have been able to receive if she were living as a senior citizen in Taiwan. “Since working here for 40 years, I have gotten social security and feel as though seniors are treated very well here. I am a citizen now so I am equal to and have the same rights as natural-born citizens, so I am happy.”

bottom of page